Dan Ebert

Race Stats

  • Events29
  • Wins3
  • Top 516
  • Top 1019


Ebert joins USMTS winners club with Ogilvie triumph

OGILVIE, Min--Making it two straight first-time USMTS winners in as many nights, Dan Ebert out-dueled Rodney Sanders in a caution-free 40-lap nail-biter Saturday at the Ogilvie Raceway.

As has come to be expected at the Wagamon family's 3/8-mile high-banked dirt oval in Ogilvie, Minn., the main event at this year's 8th Annual Modified Madness presented by RacingJunk.com was another mind-blowing barn-burner that saw a home state racer fend off the Best of the Best in the dirt modified world.

Ebert, 31, was the fastest during hot laps early in the program and finished the night off the same way with a $3,000 victory in his home state. It was the first series win for the Lake Shore resident.

From the outside of the front row, Ebert immediately established himself as the pace-setter by quickly moving to the extreme high side of the track and laying claim to the thin strip of dark clay against the guardrail.

For the most part, Ebert remained faithful to the high line but heavy lapped traffic from lap 10 until the end. Only back-markers and a late-race slide-job on Sanders brought him off his preferred line.

Dereck Ramirez gave chase for the first half of the contest before relinquishing the position to Sanders on lap 22.

Sanders ran down Ebert and used two lapped cars to slip underneath and grab the lead on lap 34. The two made hard contact two laps later when Ebert ran out of real estate between the right side of Sanders' car and the front-stretch wall.

The next time around, Ebert went to the inside of Sanders, slid up in front of him in turn 2 where they made contact, and then sped away to claim the checkered flag.

Sanders, who leads the Casey's Hunt for the USMTS National Championship, held on for second ahead of Ramirez with Terry Phillips fourth and FK Rod Ends Hard Charger Award winner Shane Sabraski finishing fifth after rolling off 40 laps earlier from the 15th slot.

Hunter Marriott, Landon Atkinson, Dave Cain, Zack VanderBeek and Cory Crapser completed the top 10.

A four-night swing Aug. 14-17 is up next with three stops in the Show-Me State and a final stop in Oklahoma.

On Wednesday, it's the 10th Annual Missouri Meltdown presented by MyRacePass.com at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo. On Thursday, the Dallas County Speedway in Urbana, Mo., hosts the USMTS for the first time for the inaugural Bullring Bash presented by Hooker Harness. On Friday, the 2nd Annual USMTS Event presented by PEM takes place at the Lake Ozark Speedway in Eldon, Mo., and the 96-hour grind wraps up Saturday at the Salina Highbanks Speedway in Pryor Creek, Okla., for the 7th Annual Salute to Veterans presented by Bryke Racing.

To connect with the United States Modified Touring Series, visit usmts.com. You can also like us on Facebook, visit us on Instagram, follow us on Twitter, connect with us on LinkedIn and watch us on YouTube. Keep up to speed, get it first and subscribe to USMTS e-News.

Article Credit: Jeff Nunn

Back to News
Collins Brothers Towing
Minnesota Truck Headquarters (MTH)
Woodies Racing
Country Pride Excavating
AMSOIL Synthetic Motor Oil
Ryan Benjamin Realty
Iron City Construction
Shaw Trucking
Pederson Farms
Country Cat
Shocker Hitch
General Formulations
Fox Factory
Speedwerx Inc/Energy Release
BCC Signs  Graphics
Go Lithium
Rob Mueller Electric
Quarter Master
Hyperco 2023
Allstar Performance
WE Insurance
G + G
Wehrs Machine
Hooker Harness